Five Champions Crowned on Day One of the Woolworths Surfer Groms at pumping Alexandra Headland

Published on 12/12/2020

Sunshine Coast, Queensland (Saturday, 12th December 2020) – Five individual champions have been crowned today at the Sunshine Coast leg of the 2020 Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps Series, which was held at Alexandra Headland in epic 2-3ft reeling right handers. 

Highlights of the day included a perfect 10.0 point ride by 9 year old Henley Smith (Suffolk Park) in the Under 10’s Girls Division. Her ride featured a perfect execution of backhand maneuvers in critical sections of the wave.  The wave capped off an amazing final for the junior star, as she went on to be crowned champion of the Under 10 Girls Division and win the Female Pic’s Peanut Butter Star Performer Award for her efforts. 

The conditions at the Alexandra Headland Bluff continued to build throughout the afternoon and duo Max Mcgillivray and Lucas Deffenti took full advantage in the Under 12 Boys Division Final. The pair battled it out in a thrilling final which saw the lead change hands twice in the last five minutes before McGillivray emerged victorious with a heat total of 16.16 of a possible 20. 

“That was so much fun out there! The waves got so good.” Said an elated Mcgillivray after his impressive victory. 

Tomorrow the Under 14 Boys and Girls Divisions will battle it out for an all expenses paid trip to the Surfing Australia High Performance Center as well as 2x Woolworths Fresh Wave Awards for the best and fairest surfers, each receiving a $250 Woolworths voucher. 

Surfers are encouraged to call the Surfing Queensland Hotline (07 3030 6388) from 5:30am tomorrow for the official location and running schedule.

Day One Final Results:

Under 12 Boys

1st: Max McGillivray (Evans Head)

2nd: Lucas Deffenti (Burleigh Heads)

3rd: Caden Francis (Palm Beach)

4th: Hayden Danswan (Peregian)

Under 12 Girls

1st: Pipi Taylor (Peregian)

2nd: Charli Hately (Currumbin)

3rd: Kauri Heuston-Connor (Burleigh Heads)

4th: Roxanne Cameron (Burleigh Heads)

Under 10 Boys

1st: Louis Taylor (Peregian Beach)

2nd: Dylan Beale (Palm Beach)

3rd: Lucas Deffenti (Burleigh Heads)

4th: Sonny Brooke (Marcus Beach)

Under 10 Girls

1st: Henley Smith (Suffolk Park)

2nd: Amelia Johnston (Marcus Beach)

3rd: Noa Amakawa (Tugun)

4th: Evie Wilson (Noosa)

Under 8 Mixed

1st: Tully Crompton (Gold Coast)

2nd: Bali Dobson (Byron Bay)

3rd: Calvin Eigenmann (Point Lookout)

4th: James Beale (Palm Beach)

Pic’s Peanut Butter Star Performer Awards

Male: Caden Francis (Palm Beach)

Female: Henley Smith (Suffolk Park)

2020/2021 Woolworth’s Surfer Groms Comps:

Surfer Groms Comps – EVENT 1 – Kiama, NSW – Sept 5, 2020

Surfer Groms Comps – EVENT 2 – Northern Beaches, NSW – Sept 12 – 13, 2020

Surfer Groms Comps – EVENT 3 – Coffs Harbour, NSW – Sept 26 – 27, 2020

Surfer Groms Comps – EVENT 4 – Cronulla, NSW – Oct 17 – 18, 2020

Surfer Groms Comps – EVENT 5 – Clifton Beach, TAS – Oct 31, 2020

Surfer Groms Comps – EVENT 6 -Trigg, WA – Nov 7 – 8, 2020 

Surfer Groms Comps – EVENT 7 – Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – Nov 14, 2020

Surfer Groms Comps – EVENT 8 – Gold Coast, QLD – Nov 21 – 22, 2020

Surfer Groms Comps – EVENT 9 – Torquay, VIC – Dec 12 – 13, 2020

Surfer Groms Comps – EVENT 10 – Sunshine Coast, QLD – Dec 12 – 13, 2020

Surfer Groms Comps – National Final – Surfing Australia HPC, Casuarina, NSW – Jan 28 – 30, 2021

The Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps are proudly supported by Pic’s Peanut Butter, Surfing Australia and YETI.

For more information, please visit –

As always, you can stay up to date with the latest news on our Facebook, Instagram and Twitter


Other News