Marquee Open Divisions Wrap Up Queensland Surf Championships pres. by Travla

Published on 23/05/2024

SUNSHINE COAST, QUEENSLAND (Saturday, 18 May, 2024) – Tayla Green and Zeb Stokes showcased their textbook surfing in the Open division, winning the Queensland State Title and securing a spot in the Australian Surf Championships.

The blue-ribbon divisions lived up to their expectations, with surfers putting on an excellent display of surfing, laying it all on the line for the top spot. 

Coolum Beach delivered excellent conditions for the marquee surf discipline to display their talent, with two-to-three foot clean swell to close out the Queensland Surf Championships pres. by Travla.

Tayla Green was the first victor to be crowned in the four-person final, with Green narrowly beating Holly Williams with a decisive final wave.

“I am stoked to get the Queensland Title and look forward to competing with these talented girls at the Aussie Shortboard Titles.” Said Green

“I would like to thank Surfing Queensland, the judges and all the people involved who put together this fun event, I’m already keen for next year!”

The all-star, highly anticipated Open Mens final saw Zeb Stokes claim victory against his brother Taj Stokes and Luke Brumby, who lead for the majority of the heat. Cooper Davies narrowly clutched third place in the last five-seconds of the event. 

Holding last priority to secure a wave, Stokes thought it was all over until he achieved an excellent score of 7.60 (out of a possible 10) in the heats closing minutes.

“I thought that was it for me to be honest,” Said Stokes.

“It’s always good getting a one-up on my brother, especially seeing as he already has a Queensland Title. It won’t be long before he tries to get me back!”

All four finalists from both the Open Men and Women divisions will be competing in the Australian Surf Championships at Port Macquarie from 31 July to 8 August, 2024.

This marks the conclusion of the 2024 Queensland Surf Championships pres. by Travla on the Sunshine Coast. The Queensland Team has now been decided for each discipline including, SUP, Kneeboard, Longboard, Masters Shortboard and Open Shortboard. 

View results on Live Heats.

2024 Queensland Surf Championships is proudly presented by Travla.

Surfing Queensland have joined forces with Danny Green’s Stop the Coward Punch Campaign who are proudly supporting the 2024 Queensland Surf Championships.

Surfing Queensland is proudly supported by Queensland Government, Suzuki, Sunshine Coast Council, Queensland Government, DriTimes, We Are Feel Good Inc, QMS Media, The Point Coolum, Blue Dinosaur, Ancestral Nutrition and Travla.


Shortboard Open Women:

1st: Tayla Green

2nd: Holly Williams

3rd: Giorgia Lorentson

4th: Sasha Baker

Shortboard Open Men:

1st: Zeb Stokes

2nd: Luke Brumby

3rd: Cooper Davies

4th: Taj Stokes


Other News