SUP Surfing Champions Crowned on Day One of the Queensland Surf Championships

Published on 18/04/2023

SUNSHINE COAST, QUEENSLAND (Monday, 17 April, 2023) – The weather was warm and windy to commence the 2023 Queensland Surf Championships at Coolum Beach on the Sunshine Coast. The six days of competition got underway with the Stand Up Paddle (SUP) Surfing Titles, crowning the first Queensland champions.

SUP divisions ranging from the Open Men’s and Women’s to the over 60’s hit the water today at Coolum Beach, battling for a position at the Australian Titles to be held later this year. The conditions were favourable in the morning with a light morning breeze, before the strong southeasterly change came through mid morning, bringing in the swell. 

Standout performances of the day went to Andrew Prowd in theMens 040andOpen Mens Divisions, Dimity Faulkner in the040 Womens LB and Shane Lynch, competing in the Dukes 060 LB. All of these athletes surfed multiple heats and divisions, scoring high heat totals and claiming Queensland Titles in their respective divisions. 

Another event standout was previous Australian Open Women’s SUP champion, Keale Dorries, looking unbeatable, winning both the Open Women’s and Open Women’s 10FT Divisions against Megan Bennett.

The waves are expected to build significantly throughout the week with increasingly strong winds. The Queensland Surf Championships is a mobile event on the Sunshine Coast. Please keep up-to-date with Surfing Queensland’s social media (@surfingqueenslandinc) and call the Surfing Queensland event hotline (07 3030 6388) each morning for the confirmed location.

The 2023 Queensland Surf Championships is proudly supported by Sunshine Coast Council, Queensland Government, DriTimes, We Are Feel Good Inc., QMS Media, The Point, GoPro and Travla.


10ft SUP Open Men

  1. Steve Morley
  2. Craig Farrow
  3. Paul Stumer
  4. Andrew Stone

10ft SUP Open Women

  1. Keale Dorries
  2. Megan Bennett

Dukes Men O60 LB SUP Surfing division

  1. Shane Lynch
  2. Peter Turner
  3. Graham Moustaka

040 Womens LB

  1. Dimity Faulkner
  2. Megan Bennett
  3. Juanita Read

050 Mens LB

  1. Paul Stumer
  2. Mark Hatfull

Grand Kahunas Men O50

  1. Michael Mccall
  2. Darren Bason
  3. Peter Turner
  4. Shane Lynch

Grand Kahunas Women O50

  1. Dimity Faulkner
  2. Megan Bennett
  3. Juanita Read

Masters Men O40

  1. Andrew Prowd
  2. Steve Morley
  3. Michael Mccall
  4. Andrew Stone

Masters Women O40

  1. Karmen Karmbren
  2. Juanita Read

Open Men

  1. Andrew Prowd
  2. darren bason
  3. Michael Mccall
  4. Craig Farrow
  5. Ben Strowger

Open Women

  1. Keale Dorries
  2. Megan Bennett

2023 Queensland Surf Championships Schedule




THURSDAY 20TH APRIL: Logger – Masters




Other News